Black bean brownies

20140313-143136.jpg

It was awhile ago that a friend of mine suggested that I try making black bean brownies and compare them to regular brownies. She said that they supposedly tasted just like regular brownies. I adore brownies so, naturally, my initial reaction was…

20140313-142255.jpg
Thinkstock images

But I finally gave them a try yesterday. I was surprised to discover that I had all the necessary ingredients on hand. While they certainly were more involved than opening a box and stirring in oil and eggs, they were simple and came together fairly quickly.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups black beans, (15 oz can) drained and rinsed very well
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup quick oats
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup pure maple syrup or agave
2 tbsp sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup to 2/3 cup chocolate chips, plus more to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all ingredients except chips in a food processor. Blend until completely smooth and large pieces of bean skin are not visible. Stir in the chips, then pour into a 8Γ—8 pan coated with non-stick cooking spray. Bake 15-18 minutes, until a toothpick comes out mostly clean. Let cool at least 15 minutes before trying to cut.

20140313-144055.jpg

The verdict
I discovered that you really do need to let the brownies mostly cool before trying to cut into them, otherwise they just fall apart. Once cooled, the consistency is much like a piece of fudge. The texture is mostly smooth, but slightly gritty. Overall, the taste was chocolately, with a hint of oatmeal aftertaste. You can tell that something is a little off, but you don’t care because they’re rich and delicious.

The nice things about these brownies is that they’re kid approved. Rachael and a friend tasted them after school and loved them. Rachael declared that I make the best brownies. It was only after they had eaten them did I reveal that they were made with black beans. Rachael was even able to be bribed to get out of bed this morning if i sent one with her lunch today. So I would say that these are an excellent way to sneak fiber and protein into your kid’s diets.

In the end, I think these are a great way to satisfy a snack craving. They’re yummy and it would be difficult to guess that they’re made with black beans. But do they taste just like brownies? No. Anyone hoping for a cakey or chewy, dense brownies will not find it in these. However, I would absolutely make these again.

Query: are they still healthy if you eat half the tray in one afternoon? Asking for a friend.

Recipe via Chocolate Covered Katie

7 thoughts on “Black bean brownies

  1. LOL, I imagine they’re more healthy than regular brownies but your “friend” and her family may pay for that half a tray tomorrow thanks to the fiber from the beans and the oats…but other than that…… πŸ˜› Somewhere around here I have an awesome recipe for brownies made from almond meal, yum!

  2. I’ve seen recipes for baked goods made with beans but I’ve been too skeptical to try any of them. Yours look good though! I like the idea of the fudgy texture. And I’m sure eating half a tray is fine. Beans are practically a vegetable, right?

    • no they’re a legume but we’ll go with that
      try them!
      Jonathan makes them healthy enough to let my kids eat them for breakfast πŸ™‚ THey’re not bad, but I’m sure Julie’s are better.

Leave a comment